Design at BOQA


The values ​​of the BOQA Design collective are the image of their creations: simple, refined, functional and solid. Above all, we wish to offer an aesthetic collection, playing with the fineness of the structure on which we will plait the thread. This play however does not influence the quality of our furniture. The Boqa furniture is one of several generations and we hope that our furniture will last through time. Once the inspiration found in nature, our travels, our collective and individual universe, we therefore systematically launch in this duality Between purity and solidity. The prototypes are linked together, the initial shape is turned over, stretched, mishandled until a perfect equilibrium is found. A sum of constraints and a balancing act in short, to which we like to deliver each year.

Once the inspiration found in nature, our travels, our collective and individual universe, we systematically launch into this duality between purity and solidity.

The prototypes are linked together, the initial shape is turned over, stretched, mishandled until a perfect balance is found. A sum of constraints and a balancing act in short, to which we like to deliver each year.






Collaborations with talented designers


After the first collaborations and the first achievements that we ourselves have produced, we have never concretely asked ourselves the question of making a choice.

For us creation was a wish, something natural. The daily manipulation of our materials, our imagination, pushed us to create and design new furniture.

The successive meetings have led us to collaborate with designers, graphic designers, architects from all horizons, because we value these mutual exchanges, source of discoveries and continuous learning. Here is a non-exhaustive list of architects, designers, who contributed to the Boqa adventure:







Philippe Gonnet

French architect and designer, he works independently since 1990 on projects of furniture, architecture and urban development.
n 1995 and 1997, the VIA finances and exhibits the chair "Ginette" the table "Cahouettes", the shelf "Totem" and the chair "G20 / 27". He collaborates on various furniture projects with Habitat, Grange, Protis, and Mobilab Gallery in Lausanne. He draws lighting and urban furniture for Valmont Sermetto, Decaux, Area. In architecture and interior design, he realizes projects of houses, apartments, restaurants, shops ...

In urban planning, he realizes many projects in the south of France. He defends a modest design, without mannerism, where meaning and use guide above all form. He lives and works today on the island of Barthelasse in Avignon.

  • console montevideo philippe gonnet boqa
  • console montevideo philippe gonnet
  • console montevideo philippe gonnet boqa design
Philippe Gonet

I designed the Montevideo as a bird cage, with fine bars and its fine structure. Between the chest and the console, both open and closed, it adapts with its 3 heights to several types of spaces and use. In an entrance, a room, a living room, it can be support of TV, support of objects, books, clothes, etc. Boqa revisits the classics of furniture "scoubidou", there is still so much to create ...”



Philippe Gonnet
Architect
Indoor architecture, Design
Website

François Bazenant

After a journey that some describe as a model, François Bazenant exercises his profession by seeking a utility in form. The object can not remain a simple exercise of style, but must absolutely contribute to bring well being in everyday life. Dreaming of shapes, and drawing his dream ... Van Gogh had thought of it, but in all modesty for the young designer ... Today, he finally exercises his creative fiber as a product designer and space, for Interior designers and a great design name: Christian Ghion.

His interest in the furniture of the 50's and 60's, and more particularly the plastic ring, will make François to notice our creations. A collaboration naturally takes place.
In its creations, the plastic rod must not remain frozen in a "fifties" frame, but bend to a contemporary version of the design. François considers very little place to nostalgia to offer a cure of youth to a material passed in the collective memory.

It is at Maison & Objet 2015 that we will discover for the first time this innovative vision of our flagship material, especially with the coffee table "Veracruz" and small table"TICO".

  • Table Veracruz Boqa Francois Bazenant
  • Table Francois Bazenant pour Boqa
  • Table Francois Bazenant pour Boqa
  • Table Design Francois Bazenant Boqa
  • Table Design Francois Bazenant Boqa
François Bazenant Boqa

Because it was them, because it was me”



François Bazenant
Product Designer - Space Designer
IAV School
Site Web

Octave Brand

When he was little, Octave Brand wanted to be an architect. He has always been impressed by beautiful shapes or original perspectives. Having become a welder, his inclinations quickly caught up with him.

Thanks to his worker's eye he could see the design of another eye, depending on the constraints or advantages of the metal he learned to know by heart. From an aesthetic point of view, octave brand looks for pure and smooth shapes. He likes to highlight the draw lines of the drawing by making them appear to the gaze.



  • Etagère Supersonix
  • Etagère Supersonix
  • Etagère Supersonix
  • Etagère Supersonix
Octave Brand

At first I wanted to make a round, a square and a triangle, I started with the round. This is how the sonix was born. I have decided from the beginning to create a very clean round shelf. The braiding boqa lends itself perfectly to the form and gave it a vintage side that I adore. The first sound that came out is at home and I would not replace it for anything in the world! For the triangle and the square and well ... we'll see.



Octave Brandt
Specialist metal artist
Product design
Website

Emily Gunning

Emily Gunning is a Furniture designer from and living London. She designs a wide range of furniture and lighting for bespoke projects around the world, and has worked for some of the top companies within the furniture and interior design industry.Emily originally collaborated with Boqa in 2014, designing a range of lights to add to their collections. Due to the nature of the materials Boqa wanted Em to use, she thought it was important that the designs create interesting shadows, and were classic, simple designs but with a fun twist.

  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
Emily Gunning

I wanted to create with the Pix lamp a modern and functional lamp, where you can create lights effects and produce a subdued ambience in the room. The "scoubidou" were naturally imposed itself as material to design this range of lights and thus my collaboration with Boqa started.”



Emily Gunning
Designer Produit
Design Intérieur, Design d'Espace
Site Web




The Boqa Collective

The BOQA collective is a group of people in BOQA who draw, shape, test and make part of the models that will be proposed tomorrow. Engineers, designers or simply design enthusiasts, we share ideas and know-how to develop prototypes and models in series. Comfort, aesthetics, respect for lines and curves are at the heart of our development activity.

  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles colectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
Philippe Gonet

We do not pretend to become renowned designers. We are looking to offer original, comfortable and durable pieces. At this game, we are stronger around a collective. ”



Boqa Collective
Engineer
Designers
Site Web

Le design chez BOQA


Les valeurs du collectif BOQA Design sont à l'image de leurs créations : simples, épurées, fonctionnelles et solides. Nous souhaitons avant tout offrir une collection esthétique, en jouant avec la finesse de la structure sur laquelle nous allons tresser le fil.

Ce jeu ne doit cependant pas influencer la qualité de nos meubles. Le mobilier Boqa est celui d'une voire plusieurs générations et nous souhaitons que notre mobilier perdure à travers le temps.

Une fois l'inspiration trouvée dans la nature, nos voyages, notre univers collectif et individuel, nous nous lançons donc systématiquement dans cette dualité entre pureté et solidité.

Les prototypes s’enchaînent, la forme initiale est retournée, étirée, malmenée jusqu’à ce que l'on trouve un équilibre parfait . Une somme de contraintes et un jeu d’équilibriste en somme, auxquels nous aimons nous livrer chaque année.






Des collaborations avec des designers talentueux


Après les premières collaborations et les premières réalisations que nous avons nous mêmes produites, nous ne nous sommes jamais concrètement posé la question de faire un choix.

Pour nous la création était une envie, quelque chose de naturel. La manipulation quotidienne de nos matières, notre imagination, nous à naturellement poussé à vouloir créer et concevoir de nouveaux meubles.

Les rencontres successives nous ont amené à continuer à collaborer avec des designers, des graphistes, des architectes de tous horizon, car nous valorisons ces échanges mutuels, source de découvertes et d'apprentissage permanent. Voici une liste non exhaustive d'architectes, de designers, qui ont contribué au fils des saisons à l'aventure Boqa :







Philippe Gonnet

Architecte dplg et designer, il travaille en indépendant depuis 1990 sur des projets de mobilier, d’architecture et d’aménagement urbain.
En 1995 et 1997, le VIA finance et expose la chaise “Ginette” la table “Cahouettes”, l’étagère “Totem” et le fauteuil “G20/27”. Il collabore sur divers projets de mobilier avec Habitat, Grange, Protis, et la galerie Mobilab à Lausanne. Il dessine des éclairages et des mobiliers urbains pour Valmont Sermetto, Decaux, Area. En architecture et aménagement intérieur, il réalise des projets de maisons, appartements, restaurants, magasins…

En aménagement urbain, il réalise de nombreux projets dans le sud de la France. Il défend un design modeste, sans maniérisme, où le sens et l’usage guident avant tout la forme.Il vit et travaille aujourd’hui sur l’île de la Barthelasse à Avignon.

  • console montevideo philippe gonnet boqa
  • console montevideo philippe gonnet
  • console montevideo philippe gonnet boqa design
Philippe Gonet

J'ai conçu la Montevideo telle une cage à oiseaux, avec les fins barreaux et sa fine structure. Entre bahut et console, à la fois ouverte et fermée, elle s'adapte avec ses 3 hauteurs à plusieurs type d'espaces et d'utilisation. Dans une entrée, une chambre, un salon, elle pourra être support de TV, support d'objets, de livres, de vêtements, etc. Boqa revisite les classiques du mobilier "scoubidou", il y a encore tant à défricher ...”



Philippe Gonnet
Architectes DPLG
Architecture intérieure, Design
Site Web

François Bazenant

Après un parcours que certains qualifient de modèle, François Bazenant exerce son métier en cherchant une utilité dans la forme. L'objet ne peut pas demeurer un simple exercice de style, mais doit absolument contribuer à apporter le bien être dans le quotidien. Rêver de formes, et dessiner son rêve... Van Gogh y avait pensé, mais cela en toute modestie pour le jeune designer... Aujourd'hui, il exerce enfin sa fibre créatrice en tant que designer produit et d'espace, pour des architectes d'intérieur et un grand nom du design : Christian Ghion.

Son intérêt pour le mobilier des années 50 et 60, et plus particulièrement le jonc plastique, amènera François à remarquer nos créations. Une collaboration s’installe naturellement.
Dans ses créations, le jonc plastique ne doit pas rester figer dans un cadre « fifties », mais se plier à une version contemporaine du design. François ne considère que très peu de place à la nostalgie pour offrir une cure de jouvence à un matériau passé dans la mémoire collective.

C’est à Maison&Objet 2015 que nous découvrirons pour la première fois cette vision innovante de notre matériau phare, notamment avec la table basse « Veracruz » et le bout de canapé « TICO ».

  • Table Veracruz Boqa Francois Bazenant
  • Table Francois Bazenant pour Boqa
  • Table Francois Bazenant pour Boqa
  • Table Design Francois Bazenant Boqa
  • Table Design Francois Bazenant Boqa
François Bazenant Boqa

Parce que c'était eux, parce que c'était moi”



François Bazenant
Designer Produit - Designer d'Espace
Ecole IAV d'Orléans
Site Web

Octave Brand

Quand il était petit, Octave Brand voulait être architecte. Son regard a toujours été emu par les belles formes ou les perspectives originales. Devenu soudeur, ses penchants l'ont vite rattrapé.

Grâce a son regard d'ouvrier il a pu voir le design d'un autre oeil, en fonction des contraintes ou des avantages du métal qu'il a appris a connaître par coeur. D'un point de vue esthétique, octave brand cherche les formes pures et lisse. Il aime mettre en valeur les lignes de fuite du dessin en les faisant apparaitre au regard. 



  • Etagère Supersonix
  • Etagère Supersonix
  • Etagère Supersonix
  • Etagère Supersonix
Octave Brand

Au début je voulais faire un rond, un carré et un triangle, j'ai commencé par le rond. C'est ainsi qu'est née la sonix. J'avais décidé dès le départ de créer une étagère ronde très épurée. Le tressage boqa se prêtait parfaitement a la forme et lui donnait un côté vintage que j'adore. La première sonix qu'on a sorti est chez moi et je ne la remplacerais pour rien au monde ! Pour le triangle et le carré et bien... on verra.



Octave Brand
Artiste spécialiste du métal
Design de produit
Site Web

Emily Gunning

Emily Gunning est une jeune designer originaire et vivant à Londres. Elle conçoit une large gamme de meubles et d'éclairage pour des projets sur mesure dans le monde entier et a collaboré avec les plus prestigieuses entreprises de design indoor. Emilly Gunning a entamé sa collaboration avec Boqa dès 2014 en concevant une gamme de luminaires pour compléter la gamme Boqa.

En raison de la nature des matériaux que Boqa voulait qu'Emilie utilise, elle a souhaité créer une lampe qui puisse créer des jeux de lumières tout en conservant un design simple et épuré, le tout de façon ludique.

  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
  • Luminaires Boqa Emily Gunning
Emily Gunning

J'ai voulu créer avec la lampe Pix une lampe moderne et fonctionnelle, où l'on puisse créer des jeux de lumière et produire une ambiance tamisée dans la pièce. Le fil scoubidou s'est naturellement imposé comme matériau pour concevoir cette gamme de luminaires et s'est ainsi que ma collaboration avec Boqa a demarré.”



Emily Gunning
Designer Produit
Design Intérieur, Design d'Espace
Site Web




Le Collectif Boqa

Le collectif BOQA est un regroupement de personnes internes a BOQA qui dessine, faconnent, testent et fabriquent une partie des modèles qui seront proposés demain. Ingénieurs, designer ou tout simplement passionnés de design, nous mettons en commun les idées et les savoir-faire pour élaborer les prototypes puis modèles en série. Confort, esthétisme, respect des lignes et des courbes sont au coeur de notre activité de développement.

  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles colectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
  • Meubles collectif Boqa
Collectif Boqa

Nous n’avons pas la prétention de devenir des designers de renom. Nous cherchons a offrir des pièces originales, confortables et durables. A ce jeu, nous sommes plus fort autour d’un collectif ”



Collectif Boqa
Ingénieurs
Designers
Site Web